top of page
    Search
    • Writer's pictureThe Church of St. John-Fulton The Long Winded

    Bottom of the Sea

    Further on, and up, my mentors speaking. Further on and up, causes my heart weeping.


    For my eyes set on the clouds slowly moving. Like great islands lazily wading through an effulgent sea. This world of great mystery lies beyond golden light. A land of imagination to satisfy my heart’s one appetite.


    But how is one to swim across the sea, so filled with dark happiness which deceives. One with ease can sink deep to misery. For hollow joy which I chase turn to ash, leaves me bereft in present and in past.


    Oh noble islands drifting up above, there is an adventure which must leed to your shores, but standing on the bottom of the sea must my eyes grow dimly? Must my mind grow weary?


    Oh promise, come swiftly. Oh sacred time let me not stop yearning for thee. Let not this tepid sole be washed away. But there may I belong to stay. Maybe not great, maybe just poor, but always to dwell in, evermore.

    0 views0 comments

    Recent Posts

    See All

    Mary in the Moon

    In darkness’ beauty she hangs there surely singing to me in silent song Her light she gives, a gentle touch, a hand upon the head A...

    Jesus as Shepherd and Gate

    From an exposition on John by Saint Thomas Aquinas, priest (Cap. 10, lect 3) The remnant of Israel shall be led to pasture. They shall...

    Mary Immaculate Mother

    Theology only makes sense when God is its center. Take for example the Immaculate Conception. Mary receiving this gift through her own...

    Comments


    bottom of page